Glances at the Music World, November 11-17, 2021



Schumann – Bruch – Louise FARRENC

The only woman to teach at the Conservatoire de Paris in the 19th century, Louise Farrenc was a masterful composer and heir to Beethoven. Under the baton of Yannick Nézet-Séguin, the OM’s explosive performance of the Symphony No. 3 bolsters Farrenc’s legacy as a noteworthy composer. OM violist Elvira Misbakhova and clarinetist Simon Aldrich take centre stage, performing show-stopping solos in Max Bruch’s Concerto for Clarinet and Viola. The instruments’ timbres come together beautifully, enchanting the audience from the first notes to the magnificent final coda. The program opens with the overture to Robert Schumann’s Manfred, which sets a Lord Byron poem to music with strikingly poignant emotions and Romantic passion.

Follow Us

About the author

The Liberal Globe is an independent online magazine that provides carefully selected varieties of stories. Our authoritative insight opinions, analyses, researches are reflected in the sections which are both thematic and geographical. We do not attach ourselves to any political party. Our political agenda is liberal in the classical sense. We continue to advocate bold policies in favour of individual freedoms, even if that means we must oppose the will and the majority view, even if these positions that we express may be unpleasant and unbearable for the majority.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

en English
error: Content is protected !!